7.3 idi rebuild

zach93

Reaction score
I am currently in the process of rebuilding my 1993 f250, with a 7.3 idi. I have a blown engine in the truck and picked up a free engine a guy pulled for a spare for his 89 7.3 idi. I have a shop space to work on my truck and keep it there and was wondering if I tore my new to me spare engine apart, had the engine block, head, cam, crank, rods, etc checked by a machine shop would it save me on labor to then take all my good parts to a diesel shop and have them reassemble the engine and place it in my truck? please keep in mind I am a college student on a budget and just want it running and driving. The only aftermarket part I want to keep is my banks sidewinder turbo. I am also open to all advice or suggestions. Thanks

hacked89

Full Access Member
Reaction score
What you described isn't going to be cheap or quick to in service, which were two of your wants. Is there something wrong with the internals that you specifically know which is why you want to tear it down?
If not, compression/leakdown get a reseal kit and put it in.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

zach93

Reaction score
The reason It would need tore down is because the spare engine was pulled in running condition. But because it sat for a while it has seized up. I suspect it is the piston rings to the cylinder wall. With that being said I am not sure how to proceed with rebuilding. Since I have a free engine I was hoping to use it and get it rebuilt.

aggiediesel01

Full Access Member
Reaction score