Super smoky startup fixed!

Poorman

Reaction score
So I've been chasing this problem for several years, I've posted about it several times. Startup on my "86" f350 6.9 was smoky beyond bad, it was like a locomotive. I only use the truck for excursions into remote areas so I just kept putting up with it, it only did it once a day. It would start almost instantly and run a little rough and puck smoke for maybe a minute and then clean up and run great, like it had a couple dead cylinders. So I went over every aspect of the glow plugs, new solenoid, built a new harness, put it on push button, tried different plugs ect. Not to get off subject but one thing that I did when making my harness, I kept the wires going to the plugs individual enough (not bundled) so I could easily access them with a clamp style meter, that way I can check the plugs super easy. I bought a compression tester and was surprised that it was pretty good. (375-415). Because it sets a lot for months at a time I was told my fuel was gunking up and causing my injectors to stick until warm, I send them in for an inspection, they said they were gunked up. After getting the run around for 3 weeks I had them send them back and I bought a pop tester and cleaned and shimmed them myself. To my surprise they were not gunked at all, even under a magnifying glass I couldn't find a speck of anything, felt like I'd been lied to. To be clear this was NOT one of the company's often mentioned on this site. Valve seals were mentioned so I pulled those out, a couple were falling apart so it was time but didn't change a thing. So I thought maybe the IP, so I called Justin, first time to call him, told him my symptoms, he said it's not your IP you've got air intrusion, but I'd had air intrusion before and it was different, it would start then die and then crank for 30 seconds, my returns were 8 years old but I had just replaced them anyways when I had the injectors out. He said replace all lines from the tanks foreword,